Come to the Magic Lantern Cinema in Tywyn this February – the UK’s best Independent Cinema! Watch the latest films on Tywyn Cinema’s brand-spanking new 3D projector, their top-of-the-range 7.1 surround sound and with a cracking bar – you’re certain to have a great time! Doors open 30 mins before each screening – subtitles are available on Mondays. Heard of Hearing (HOH) showings are often on Mondays, and will be mentioned next to the times in each film.

Check out this months events at Tywyn Cinema too!

Passengers

A spacecraft traveling to a distant colony planet and transporting thousands of people has a malfunction in its sleep chambers. As a result, two passengers are awakened 90 years early.

Film Length: 116 mins

12A

Watch Passengers Trailer!

Showing times for Passengers:

Friday 27th January -7pm
Saturday 28th January -7pm
Monday 30th January -7pm (HOH)
Wednesday 1st February -1pm (Screamer)
Thursday 2nd February -2:30pm

Advertise here?

Burn Burn Burn

Following the death of their friend, two girls in their late twenties embark on a road trip to spread his ashes. Seph and Alex take turns driving. Dan is in the glove compartment, in Tupperware, decreasing in volume as the trip progresses.

Film Length: 106 mins

15

Watch Burn Burn Burn Trailer!

Showing times for Burn Burn Burn:

Sunday 29th January -7pm
Tuesday 31st January -7pm
Wednesday 1st February -7pm

A monster calls

A boy seeks the help of a tree monster to cope with his single mother's terminal illness.

Film Length: 108 mins

12A

Watch A monster calls Trailer!

Showing times for A monster calls:

Saturday 4th February -7pm
Monday 6th February -7pm
Tuesday 7th February -7pm
Wednesday 8th February -7pm
Thursday 9th February -7pm

Lion

A five-year-old Indian boy gets lost on the streets of Calcutta, thousands of kilometers from home. He survives many challenges before being adopted by a couple in Australia; 25 years later, he sets out to find his lost family.

Film Length: 118 mins

PG

Watch Lion Trailer!

Showing times for Lion:

Friday 10th February -7pm
Saturday 11th February -7pm
Sunday 12th February -7pm
Monday 13th February -7pm
Tuesday 14th February -7pm
Wednesday 15th February -7pm
Thursday 16th February -1:30pm

Monster Trucks

Looking for any way to get away from the life and town he was born into, Tripp, a high school senior, builds a Monster Truck from bits and pieces of scrapped cars. After an accident at a nearby oil-drilling site displaces a strange and subterranean creature with a taste and a talent for speed, Tripp may have just found the key to getting out of town and a most unlikely friend.

Film Length: 105 mins

PG

Watch Monster Trucks Trailer!

Showing times for Monster Trucks:

Saturday 11th February -4pm
Sunday 12th February -2:30pm
Tuesday 14th February -4:15pm
Thursday 16th February -4:15pm

Sing

In a city of humanoid animals, a hustling theater impresario's attempt to save his theater with a singing competition becomes grander than he anticipates even as its finalists' find that their lives will never be the same.

Film Length: 108 mins

U

Watch Sing Trailer!

Showing times for Sing:

Friday 17th February -4pm
Saturday 18th February -4pm
Sunday 19th February -4pm
Monday 20th February -4pm
Tuesday 21st February -4pm
Wednesday 22nd February -4pm
Thursday 23rd February -4pm

La La Land

The story of Mia, an aspiring actress, and Sebastian, a dedicated jazz musician, struggling to make ends meet while pursuing their dreams in a city known for destroying hopes and breaking hearts. With modern day Los Angeles as the backdrop, this musical about everyday life explores what is more important: a once-in-a-lifetime love or the spotlight.

Film Length: 128 mins

12A

Watch La La Land Trailer!

Showing times for La La Land:

Friday 17th February -7pm
Saturday 18th February -7pm
Sunday 19th February -7pm
Monday 20th February -7pm
Tuesday 21st February -7pm
Wednesday 22nd February -7pm
Thursday 23rd February -7pm