Come to the Magic Lantern Cinema in Tywyn this January – the UK’s best Independent Cinema! Watch the latest films on Tywyn Cinema’s brand-spanking new 3D projector, their top-of-the-range 7.1 surround sound and with a cracking bar – you’re certain to have a great time! Doors open 30 mins before each screening – subtitles are available on Mondays. Heard of Hearing (HOH) showings are often on Mondays, and will be mentioned next to the times in each film.

Check out this months events at Tywyn Cinema too!

The Aeronauts

In 1862 headstrong scientist James Glaisher and wealthy young widow Amelia Wren mount a balloon expedition to fly higher than anyone in history. As their perilous ascent reduces their chances of survival, the unlikely duo soon discover things about themselves - and each other - that help both of them find their place in the world

Film Length: 101 mins

PG

Watch The Aeronauts Trailer!

Showing times for The Aeronauts:

Thursday 2nd January -4pm

Advertise here?

Frozen II

Anna, Elsa, Kristoff, Olaf and Sven leave Arendelle to travel to an ancient, autumn-bound forest of an enchanted land. They set out to find the origin of Elsa's powers in order to save their kingdom.

Film Length: 103 mins

U

Watch Frozen II Trailer!

Showing times for Frozen II:

Thursday 2nd January -7pm
Saturday 4th January -2pm

Knives Out

A detective investigates the death of a patriarch of an eccentric, combative family.

Film Length: 130 mins

12A

Watch Knives Out Trailer!

Showing times for Knives Out:

Friday 3rd January -7pm
Monday 6th January -7pm
Tuesday 7th January -7pm
Wednesday 8th January -7:45pm
Thursday 9th January -1pm

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

After Palpatine mysteriously returns, the Resistance faces the First Order once more in the final chapter of the Skywalker saga.

Film Length: 142 mins

12A

Watch Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker Trailer!

Showing times for Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker:

Friday 10th January -7pm (3D)
Saturday 11th January -2pm (3D) & 7:45pm (3D)
Sunday 12th January -3pm (2D)
Monday 13th January -1pm (2D - HOH - Relaxed Screening) & 7pm (2D - HOH)
Tuesday 14th January -3:45pm (2D)
Wednesday 15th January -7:45pm (2D)
Thursday 16th January -7pm (2D)

Harriet

The extraordinary tale of Harriet Tubman's escape from slavery and transformation into one of America's greatest heroes, whose courage, ingenuity, and tenacity freed hundreds of slaves and changed the course of history.

Film Length: 125 mins

12A

Watch Harriet Trailer!

Showing times for Harriet:

Sunday 12th January -7pm
Tuesday 14th January -7pm
Thursday 16th January -1pm

Cats

A tribe of cats called the Jellicles must decide yearly which one will ascend to the Heaviside Layer and come back to a new Jellicle life.

Film Length: 110 mins

U

Watch Cats Trailer!

Showing times for Cats:

Friday 17th January -7pm
Saturday 18th January -2pm (Dog friendly screening!)
Sunday 19th January -3pm
Tuesday 21st January -7pm
Thursday 23rd January -1pm

Le Mans '66

American car designer Carroll Shelby and driver Ken Miles battle corporate interference, the laws of physics and their own personal demons to build a revolutionary race car for Ford and challenge Ferrari at the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1966.

Film Length: 152 mins

12A

Watch Le Mans '66 Trailer!

Showing times for Le Mans '66:

Sunday 19th January -7pm
Monday 20th January -7pm (HOH)
Wednesday 22nd January -7:45pm
Thursday 23rd January -7pm

Jumanji: The Next Level

In Jumanji: The Next Level, the gang is back but the game has changed. As they return to rescue one of their own, the players will have to brave parts unknown from arid deserts to snowy mountains, to escape the world's most dangerous game.

Film Length: 123 mins

12A

Watch Jumanji: The Next Level Trailer!

Showing times for Jumanji: The Next Level:

Friday 24th January -7pm (3D)
Sunday 26th January -3pm (2D)
Tuesday 28th January -4pm (2D)
Wednesday 29th January -7:45pm (2D)

Little Women

Jo March reflects back and forth on her life, telling the beloved story of the March sisters - four young women each determined to live life on their own terms.

Film Length: 135 mins

U

Watch Little Women Trailer!

Showing times for Little Women:

Sunday 26th January -7pm
Monday 27th January -7pm
Tuesday 28th January -7pm
Thursday 30th January -1pm

Judy & Punch

Seaside (nowhere near the sea), puppeteers Judy and Punch are trying to resurrect their marionette show in an an anarchic town on the brink of mob rule.

Film Length: 105 mins

U

Watch Judy & Punch Trailer!

Showing times for Judy & Punch:

Friday 31st January -7pm
Saturday 1st February -7:45pm
Monday 3rd February -7pm (HOH + Special Punch and Judy talk at 7pm)
Thursday 6th February -7pm